This page was created by Hiroko Matsuda. 

Bodies and Structures 2.0: Deep-Mapping Modern East Asian History

On Yaeyama

According to the Okinawa prefectural office's website, the Yaeyama Archipelago is today located at the southwest limit of Japanese territory. It consisted of 32 islands. In 2020, twelve of them inhabited. It contains three administrative divisions: Ishigaki City, Taketomi Town and Yonaguni Town. Ishigaki City has been the economic and political center of the Archipelago in history. While the distance between Ishigaki Island and Naha City, in which the Okinawa prefectural office is located, is approximately 411 kilometers, the distance between Yonaguni Town and Taiwan is approximately 111 kilometers (Okinawa-ken, 2020).

This page is referenced by: